Employment laws are often complex and difficult to understand. If you believe your rights as an employee are being violated, you might have countless questions about the wage and hour laws. To help you understand your rights, our Kentucky employment law attorneys have answered some of the most frequently asked questions about wage and hour laws in Kentucky.
What is the minimum wage in Kentucky?
As of July 1st, 2009, the minimum wage in Kentucky is $7.25 per hour.
How many hours must I work to be full-time?
In Kentucky, there isn’t a law that defines full-time or part-time employment. This means that there isn’t a set number of hours that makes a work part-time or full-time, unlike other states. The employer ultimately determines whether to name a position full-time or part-time.
Am I entitled to a paid rest period?
Yes, you are entitled to a rest period of at least ten minutes during every four hours you work. These ten rest periods are paid by your employer.
Am I entitled to a meal break?
Yes, you are required to take a meal break no sooner than the third or later than the fifth hour of your work shift unless you and your employer have mutually agreed to some other arrangement. However, it is important to note that the meal period doesn’t have to be paid.
Can my employer require me to work overtime?
Yes, since there aren’t any laws that prohibit your employer from requiring you to work overtime.
How much should I be getting paid if I work overtime?
Your employer must pay you time and a half for hours worked that exceed 40 hours in a workweek. For example, if you make 12 dollars an hour, you must be paid 18 dollars an hour for each overtime hour you work.
Can my employer change my pay rate without notice?
No, your employer must give you notice prior to having you work any hours under the new rate. They can’t change your rate without notifying you first.
Is my employer required to give me holiday pay?
No, your employer is not required to give you holiday pay in Kentucky.
How many sick days do I get in Kentucky?
Full-time employees, who have worked or been on paid leave for 100 or more regular hours per month, earn one day of sick leave per month.
When is my employer required to give me my final paycheck?
Your employer has until the next regular payday or fourteen (14) days, whichever occurs last to give you your final paycheck.
What should I do if my employer violates a wage and hour law?
If your employer violated your employment rights, you are entitled to seek compensation for their wrongdoing. You can file a claim to hold them accountable and to get the money you should have received if they wouldn’t have violated your rights.
Should I hire an employment law attorney?
If you believe your employer has wronged you and you want to file a claim, you should have an experienced attorney on your side. Filing an employment law claim can be complicated. Plus, it is likely that your employer will have strong attorneys on their side. For such reasons, it is vital that you have a lawyer who can guide you through the process, protect your rights, and help you get the compensation you deserve.
Our team at Charles W. Miller & Associates has helped employees across Kentucky protect their employment rights. We have the knowledge, skills, and experience needed to protect you and ensure that you get what you deserve after your employer didn’t follow the state and federal laws. We can help you gather evidence and present a strong case.
Contact us today at (502) 890-9954 to schedule a consultation!